The Lovers’
Walk

Romeo and Juliet’s
Lovers’ Walk

Povoletto

G&R: “Juliet’s Tower”

Savorgnano al Torre di Povoletto is one of the locations in Romeo and Juliet, where we find part of the Savorgan family history, from which Lucina and Luigi descend.
Povoletto is also an area with many stunning natural landscapes … a large area
where fields, hills with fine wines, waterways and plenty of places to relax all meet.
Here the love story of Romeo and Juliet invites us to dream of the times of knights and fair ladies.
Discover the places and uniqueness that Povoletto and its territory has to offer.

Infopoint

Would you like to know more about the Municipality? Come and visit us and we will advise you on our points of interest, events or activities that Povoletto has to offer.

Contacts

L.go Mons. Cicuttini, n. 1
33040 Povoletto (UD)

tel. +39 0432 664082

Uniqueness of the territory

Discover the hospitality that the territory reserves. The DOC wines produced in this area of the Eastern Hills of Friuli by small but high quality companies.

Map

On the map the location of the G&R places of Romeo and Juliet, the places of the period between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, and the points of interest, historical and naturalistic, that will make your experience unique in the area.

Place of heart

The places of Povoletto and its territory, the period between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, which are the background to the love story of Romeo and Juliet.

Points of interest

Discover the origins, the history of Povoletto and its territory, its points of historical and naturalistic interest. A cultural journey, to discover incredible and exciting places and facts.

Infopoint

Would you like to know more about the Municipality? Come and visit us and we will advise you on our points of interest, events or activities that Povoletto has to offer.

Contacts

L.go Mons. Cicuttini, n. 1
33040 Povoletto (UD)

tel. +39 0432 664082

Uniqueness of the territory

Discover the hospitality that the territory reserves. The DOC wines produced in this area of the Eastern Hills of Friuli by small but high quality companies.

Map

On the map the location of the G&R places of Romeo and Juliet, the places of the period between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, and the points of interest, historical and naturalistic, that will make your experience unique in the area.

Place of heart

The places of Povoletto and its territory, the period between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, which are the background to the love story of Romeo and Juliet.

Points of interest

Discover the origins, the history of Povoletto and its territory, its historical and naturalistic points of interest. A cultural journey, to discover incredible and exciting places and facts.

G&R History
of Povoletto

Savorgnano a Torre

G&R History
of Povoletto

Savorgnano a Torre

JULIET’S TOWER

The noble villa of Savorgnano del Torre, birthplace of the Savorgnan family, was built as an entire complex from the second half of the 1400s, after the destruction of the original Motta castle.
Here the Savorgnan family controlled the Friuli waters up to Udine. It is likely that Lucina stayed there, on various occasions when her mother moved to the Savorgnan estates.
The tower dedicated to Lucina, known as ‘Juliet’s Tower’, is part of the villa complex. The tower dedicated to Lucina, known as ‘Juliet’s Tower’, is part of the villa complex.
The romantic “Juliet’s Tower” in the villa of the “Lords of Water”.
Villa Savorgnan, known as the new Castle, was erected at the end of the fifteenth century in place of the “Motta” castle after its destruction, from which only a few ruins remain.
In the Villa you can appreciate the refined three-light window with trefoil arches, located on the main floor of the building. Drawn in by the refined late Gothic windows with three arches on the third floor. Inside the complex there is also a small church used by the family for private worship, a common feature of noble homes.
Juliet’s Tower, in exposed stone, with its picturesque half-arched access bridge, still echoes the chivalrous and romantic deeds retold in the story of Romeo and Juliet. The large windows and the entrance to the tower are framed by pointed arches.

Povoletto

Mentioned for the first time, as Povoleto, in a document of the thirteenth century, has more ancient origins, as evidenced by the etymology of the toponym, deriving from the Latin term POPULUS, ie ‘poplar’, with the addition of the collective suffix – ETUM. Its hamlets are places full of history of the period of the two noble lovers, points of interest and beauty to discover.

Salt of Povoletto

Hamlet of Povoletto

Memories of military strongholds, control of fords and fortified alignments

Salt was once a Roman military stronghold placed there to guard the easy fords of the Torre stream. The same fort or a fortified Roman villa during the Lombard period became the administrative centre of a noble Lombard family and was later used as a Benedictine women’s monastery, rich in territories managed by Sesto al Reghena.
A widening of the road leading to Udine, also obtained by filling in an ancient moat, allows us to admire the fortified alignment of the ancient curtain wall village, which was accessed through porticoes that are still partly used and decorated with painted icons as a vow to the patron saints.

Siacco

Hamlet of Povoletto

The ancient testimony of Christianity and the fury of the waters

The hamlet of Siacco is mentioned for the first time in the famous deed of 762 when the female monastery of Salt is officially recognised as the farm of the village.
The antiquity of the small church, which stands in the midst of modern cultivation, is confirmed by its dedication to St Vitale and thus to the first spread of Christianity in the area. Written evidence dates back to the second half of the 13th century. The agricultural vocation was severely tested by the rushing waters of the Malina torrent that laps the area.
The documents reveal a recurring fear on the part of the inhabitants, who complain that at ‘every mountain’ they were forced to rebuild four wooden bridges at their own expense in order to avoid total isolation and run the risk, which had already occurred, of having their land torn up by the waters of the Malina, which easily changed course. But we should not underestimate the artisanal vocation of the area, which could boast the wheels of several mills, iron beaters and sawmills driven by the “jumps” of the Roggia Cividina, also known as Siacco.

Grions del Torre

Hamlet of Povoletto

The forest, the mills and the nineteenth-century postal route

It is the southernmost hamlet of the municipality and can be easily reached by following the nineteenth-century postal road.
The oldest documents date back to the second half of the 13th century and tell us of a forest of Grions. A second document dating back to 1293 reveals the dependence of the area on the Savorgnan family, who could thus maintain continuity in the management of the various mills of the Roggia Cividina, which continued as far as Cerneglons.
The ancient settlement ran along the main street, which still reveals wide porticoes and defended the parish church located in the interior.

Ravosa

Hamlet of Povoletto

Land of ancient furnaces and confluence of waters

Ravosa has always been a road centre of considerable importance, being located on the road connecting the mountainous area of the Malina torrent basin, and neighbouring areas, with Tricesimo, Udine and the plain in general.
Già i Romani ne avevano intuito l’importanza e, sfruttando il terreno argilloso, vi avevano costruito fornaci i cui resti sembrano accompagnare il tracciato della vecchia strada per Attimis. Some bricks and ashlars, also found among the houses of the village during recent restorations, bear direct witness to the antiquity of the village itself. During the Middle Ages, there is evidence of a lively timber trade that, drawing on rich and valuable woods, supplied the market with precious material.
The waters of the Malina stream are still a source of water for the Ravosa, Magredis and Siacco canals.

Marsure di Sopra

Hamlet of Povoletto

Place of primitive settlements and country villas

Near the ancient settlement, finds from the Neolithic period have come to light and, in addition to the classic flint objects, several small menhirs, some with barely sketched figures, and the perimeters of small settlements have been found.
The hamlet is known for its villa, currently owned by the Zanardi-Landi family.

Savorgnano al Torre

Hamlet of Povoletto

Traces of Roman times and ancient crops. The Savorgnans and the water economy

Savorgnano al Torre inevitably brings to mind the Savorgnan family from which it takes its name. It is the northernmost hamlet of the municipality of Povoletto. It is renowned for its wines In the area there are numerous remains of Roman buildings, one of which can be dated back to the discovery of a coin of Constantine the Great from 300 AD. It was certainly the Romans who introduced vine cultivation to the area, a constant strong point of the village’s economy.
The first written information about the place dates back to the year 921, when Berengario was granted the concession to fortify a pre-existing castle on the Motta hill. In addition to being a residence, the fortified villa was the seat of the administration of the powerful feud that controlled the waters of the river and the intakes of the irrigation ditches, dating back to the 13th century. The Savorgnans could arrange for the “cutting” of the royal locks, leaving a large area of the plain around Udine without water.
This control activity at the time, was considered a real productive unit involving an economic activity. It also owned a bridge connecting the eastern moraine hills to the Cornappo and Lagna valleys.

Bellazoia

Hamlet of Povoletto

Noble landscapes of historic fords

It is the easternmost village of the municipality and the only hamlet of Povoletto located on the left side of the Malina stream. Once upon a time it was used to ford the torrent.
The place, called Zumpita in the oldest documents, became the property of the nobles of Cuccagna who, probably in the first half of the 13th century, built houses here on pre-existing Roman dwellings.
View here the map of the 10,000 steps FVG of Povoletto.

Belvedere

Hamlet of Povoletto

A small village with a great history

Belvedere is the smallest hamlet of the municipality and its history is linked to the Partistagno family, a branch of Cuccagna.

Primulacco

Hamlet of Povoletto

A place of meadows and easy fords

This is one of the hamlets that has recently experienced a significant increase in residential construction.
The new development has not made us forget the historical tradition of the hamlet, which is located on the left bank of the Torre at the point where, by widening its bed, the bizarre watercourse allows one of the first easy fords.

Marsure di Sotto

Hamlet of Povoletto

Water for ancient crafts and noble fishponds

The hamlet of Marsure di Sotto is currently known thanks to the villa of the Mangilli marquises, now Schubert. The origins of the place are, however, much older and had their moment of greatest craft development when they were able to take full advantage of the sudden, though slow, drop in the height of the Roggia Cividina riverbed.
Within a few hundred metres there is evidence of no less than three artisan settlements, followed by others in the area immediately downstream.
They were not just simple mills, but each skip was equipped with several wheels that also moved saws and iron beaters.
The noble villas in the area, Mangilli and Coren, were embellished with fishponds fed by a system of canals derived from the nearby course of the Roggia Cividina. In the hamlet there is the school complex of the municipal nursery, primary and secondary schools, complete with modern sports facilities.

Magredis

Hamlet of Povoletto

Gentle elevations on thin ground

The village of Magredis stands, for the most part, on a small, gentle rise that saved it from the flooding of the Malina.
The place-name indicates the type of meagre, not very fertile and gravelly terrain that contrasts with the current diametrically opposed reality as it probably already was in the year 762 when there is evidence of the existence of farms, casas in Magretas, directly dependent on the Benedictine female monastery of Salt.

Places between 1400 and 1500

Motta Castle

921, Savorgnano al Torre

Castle and remains of buildings at the confluence of ancient waterways, collected in the Antiquarium

The remains of the Motta Castle, formerly owned by the Savorgnan family, stand near the hamlet of Savorgnano al Torre, on a hill at the confluence of the Torre stream and the Motta brook.
Over the centuries, at a height of 222 metres, the area was built up with a donjon and other stately buildings, in the upper part; a second area of buildings; a wider and sometimes flat area with walls where it is believed the ‘borgo’ that gravitated around the castle was located. The entrance to the castle was from the north-east and its defence was guaranteed by an artificial moat. At present, the castle site can be reached on foot, with some difficulty, either from the south-west, along a short but narrow path, or from the north-east, along a ridge path which, in all probability, corresponded to the ancient access to the site.
The Antiquarium della Motta, with its archaeological collection from the excavations of Motta Castle, and the Fossil Exhibition are home to an important collection of fossils from the region and beyond. It is located in Villa Pitotti.
Click qui to visit the Aquarium website.

Villa Savorgnan

15th century, Savorgnano al Torre

The romantic Juliet Tower of the villa of the "Lords of the Water".

In place of the “Motta” castle, Villa Savorgnan, known as the New Castle, was built at the end of the fifteenth century, after the destruction of the nearby Motta Castle, of which only a few ruins remain.
In the Villa one can appreciate the painted three-mullioned window with three-lobed arches, located on the main floor of the building. Repeated in the refined late Gothic three-arched windows on the third floor. Inside the complex there is also a small church used for private family worship, a common feature of noble dwellings.
Juliet’s Tower, in fair-faced stone, with its picturesque half-arched access bridge, still echoes the chivalrous and romantic exploits of the story of Romeo and Juliet. The large windows and the tower entrance are framed by pointed arches.

Small church of Saint Peter

15th – 16th century, Magredis

Rare Renaissance frescoes of life in rural Friuli

The first documents mentioning the building date back to 1405.
The church has a single nave and a rectangular floor plan with an exposed ceiling and wooden trusses; the apse has a ribbed vault.
The most valuable part of the building are the frescoes by Gian Paolo Thanner (1475-1555).
In the middle part of the apse walls, the Apostles were depicted in 1518. In the lunettes, scenes from the life of St Peter can be seen, and in the centre, the Holy Trinity is painted, with the Holy Spirit nestled in the beard of the Almighty.
The Four Evangelists are reproduced within the partitions of the vault.
Of a completely different theme are the frescoes depicting the Twelve Months represented by the typical agricultural work dedicated to each month, the work of an anonymous painter from the second half of the 15th century. They depict the life of Friuli at that time in a predominantly rural atmosphere and tell the story of the gentlemen’s amusements and work on a farm between the end of the 1400s and the first half of the 1500s.

Former church of San Martino

XIII -1961, Salt di Povoletto

The church swallowed up by the waters

A document attests to the existence of a church in Salt at the end of the 13th century.
The building suffered significant damage on two occasions: in 1507 due to the arrival of German troops of the Holy Roman Empire and in 1511 due to a catastrophic earthquake. The church was renovated and re-consecrated in 1547.
On 30 November 1636, the old church in Salt was knocked down and swallowed by the waters of the Torre stream.
A new Baroque church (dedicated to St Martin) was built and its appearance was preserved until its demolition in 1961.

The small church of San Leonardo

15th century, Bellazoia

A treasure trove of frescoes and masterpieces of the time

It is dedicated to the saint who devoted himself to redeeming prisoners of war or unjustly imprisoned. A number of masterpieces have been collected through the time, including: the sculpture by Bartolomeo Ortari (17th-18th century), the altar (18th century) and two frescoes, probably dating back to the 15th century; the best preserved, the work of a very experienced author, depicts the Madonna with Child in her arms holding an apple.

Domus Magna

1476, Belvedere

One of the first Venetian villas in Friuli with elegant Renaissance details

In 1476, the Domus Magna, one of the earliest examples of Venetian villas in Friuli. Nobles of Partistagno, who owned manors well perched in the foothills, chose here to build a new residence at the crossroads of the Attimis-Udine, Savorgnano-Salt-Udine roads and the then busy ford of Rizzolo, on the Torre stream, which joined Tricesimo to Cividale del Friuli. The small church of San Bartolomeo was part of the complex, certainly prior to 1318, of which only an icon stands outside the walls.
What is elegant, is the triple lancet window with late Gothic three-lobed pointed arches.
The villa consists of the main building and a lower wing, while to the right of the entrance to the garden there is a rustic building with an architraved doorway, which was once the site of the guardhouse.

The small church of San Nicolò

9th-16th century, Primulacco

Frescoes and Renaissance stories

The building, founded around the year 1000, has a rectangular hall with a mullioned bell on the roof.
The interior walls are decorated with frescoes painted in 1544 by Gian Paolo Thanner (1475-1555): the Trinity with praying angels and winged cherubs, scenes from the Life of St. Nicholas and the Passion of Christ, the Fathers or Doctors of the Church, symbols of the Four Evangelists.

Church of San Vitale

15th-16th century, Siacco

A small Renaissance church

The small church of San Vitale, mentioned in a will from 1338, is located near the cemetery in the hamlet of Siacco.
The building, rebuilt between the 15th and 16th centuries, has a rectangular ground plan preceded by a square porch with a gabled roof and is surrounded by a small wall with exposed stones.
The bell tower, built in the 17th century, is located outside the walls.
Inside the church there is a fresco depicting St. Ermacora and St. Fortunato, to whom local devotion is still linked even though the building is dedicated to St. Vitale.

Church of San Clemente

1350 – 1511, Povoletto

Finely framed 16th-century Renaissance works

The oldest church in the chief town is the cemetery church of San Benedetto, whose first documentary mention dates back to 1292. There is evidence of two subsequent re-consecrations after earthquakes in 1350 and 1511. In 1791, the present parish church was built, which houses a painting by Michele Almonio from the end of the 16th century and an antependium from the 16th century depicting San Clemente, the church’s patron saint.

Points of interest

Oratory of Saint Eurosia

1698, Marsure di Sopra

Classical models and fine decorations in grey stone

Now of the Annunziata, and the small garden, clearly visible on the main road in front of the villa, is adorned with grotesque statues, pipinas, of unknown origin and perhaps remains of earlier constructions.
The church is surmounted by a single-light bell tower made of carved stones. The façade is set in a square shape connected to the tympanum delimited by the cornice.

Villa Zanardi - Landi

1698, Marsure di Sopra

Country villa with courtyard of honour and rustic spaces, of ancient activities

Villa Zanardi-Landi has a central body in front of which opens the so-called courtyard of honour; on the sides there are two lower buildings and several rustic buildings linked to the agricultural activities that took place on the property.
The rear part of the villa, with a central staircase, faces the park and the small lake created by diverting the nearby waters of the Roggia Cividina.
The villa also includes a small church, the Oratory of Santa Eurosia, built in

Villa Mangilli

18th century, Savorgnano al Torre

Countryside, residence and place of illustrious poets

The villa is located in the hamlet of Savorgnano al Torre and belongs to the Marquis Mangilli, who bought it in 1882.
The building, renovated in the 18th century, had a residential and productive function and was accessed through a large garden. Its productive function is still recognisable in the various structures overlooking the courtyard behind it.
The villa has also hosted important people, including the Friulian poet Enrico Fruch when, at the beginning of his career, he was a teacher at the Ravosa primary school.

Villa Mangilli Schubert

17th century, Marsure di Sotto

A classic style of Palladian memory

Villa Mangilli-Schubert, located in the hamlet of Marsure di Sotto, takes its name from the family who bought it in the 17th century to make it their business centre and country residence. The Mangilli family were merchants from Caprino, in the Bergamo area. The villa, enlarged and embellished in the 18th century, was their favourite country residence.
At the front it has the typical appearance of a stately residence, while at the back there is a courtyard overlooked by rustic and productive buildings. A vertical tripartite division, marked by the openings and horizontal slender stringcourses.
A classical style reminiscent of Palladio. The two pinnacle-shaped chimneys on the roof give character and compositional symmetry. Also part of the villa are the small manor church and an ancient “foladôr”, the place where the harvested grapes were pressed for the production of wine.

Church of the Nativity of Mary

1676, Marsure di Sotto

Frames, stringcourses and architectural visual continuity

The Church of San Benedetto, dedicated to the Nativity of Mary (1676), is adjacent to Villa Mangilli Shubert. It is an interesting 17th-century architecture, experimenting with superimpositions of classical architectural elements: string-course cornices, and an upper tympanum, surmounted by a refined single-light bell.
The quadrangular corner pilasters split and give visual continuity to the corner and cornice, giving volume to the composition.
The window and portal openings are aligned, contributing to the architectural configuration of the façade.

Villa Coren Cecioni

17th century, Siacco

Grandeur and elegance

The villa was the site of a large farm already mentioned in the early 17th century.
The property passed from the noble Caselli family to the Belgrado counts and in 1815 to the Coren family, now known as Cecioni.
The central building is the oldest and over time two imposing side wings and numerous rustic rooms typical of farms were added.
Surrounding the main building is a large garden with fishponds fed by the waters of the Roggia Cividina.