The Lovers’
Walk

Romeo and Juliet’s
Lovers’ Walk

Remanzacco

Place of ancient settlements and Renaissance battles

In the Percorso dell’Amore, Remanzacco and its hamlets have places and memories of the Renaissance period of great value, points of interest and nature of rare beauty. Located on the axis connecting Cividale del Friuli with Udine, it is a “heart” place to be discovered.

Uniqueness of the territory

Discover the welcome that Remanzacco and its territory reserve you.

Map

On the map the location of the G&R places of Romeo and Juliet, the places of the period between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, and the points of interest, historical and naturalistic, that will make your experience unique in the area.

Place of heart

The places of Remanzacco and its territory, the period between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, which are the background to the love story of Romeo and Juliet.

Points of interest

Discover the origins, the history of Remanzacco and its territory, its points of historical and naturalistic interest. A cultural journey, to discover incredible and exciting places and facts.

Uniqueness of the territory

Discover the welcome that Remanzacco and its territory reserve you.

Map

On the map the location of the G&R places of Romeo and Juliet, the places of the period between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, and the points of interest, historical and naturalistic, that will make your experience unique in the area.

Place of heart

The places of Remanzacco and its territory, the period between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, which are the background to the love story of Romeo and Juliet.

Points of interest

Discover the origins, the history of Remanzacco and its territory, its points of historical and naturalistic interest. A cultural journey, to discover incredible and exciting places and facts.

Remanzacco

Remanzacco, comes from a Roman toponym in -acu from Romatius or from Romanicius sign that the place was frequented by pre-Roman Celtic populations. Over the centuries Remanzacco was mentioned on several occasions, starting in 1192, referring to its parish church. It was inhabited since the Neolithic, of which several traces remain.
It is characterized by a flat aspect, and is crossed by the streams Torre, Malina and Grivò and streams, on which the mills were built.
During 1500, it was part of the gastaldia of Cividale administered by a Vicinia of the jurisdiction of the Chapter of Cividale.
On 1 August 1509, near the countryside of Orzano, there was a clash between the Venetian troops and a detachment of the Austrian army, that in those days was besieging Cividale del Friuli, and that in the battle got the better. The conflict is part of the great offensive that Maximilian of Austria, after the agreement of the League of Cambrai on 10 December 1508, was intent on bringing about the conquest of the territories promised to him by the secret agreement of Cambrai in 1508. A few days after Cividale was under siege, he managed, with a heroic resistance of his citizens, to defeat and withdraw the Imperials, it was August 9, 1509.

During the Napoleonic rule, in 1811, the administration of the hamlets of Ziracco and Orzano, historically linked to noble castellans, became part of its municipality. Cerneglons, linked to Udine was aggregated from 1818. Its hamlets are: Cerneglons, Orzano, Selvis, Ziracco.
Its localities are: Battiferro Molini, Casali della Roggia, Casali Magnis, Casali Maniassi Tedeschi, Case sparse, Marsura Gugliola.

Place of heart

Church of St John the Baptist

1535 e 1789, Remanzacco

A lesson in harmony and proportion

A church in Remanzacco is mentioned for the first time in Pope Celestine III’s bull of 24 November 1192, which recognises the rights of the chapter of Cividale over churches that had existed for at least forty years.
The church was completely rebuilt in 1535, as recalled by the plaque above the portal, and was dedicated to St. John the Baptist. Previously the church was dedicated to St. Stephen the Martyr. The church was rebuilt again in 1789. It was damaged by the 1976 Friuli earthquake and was later restored and consolidated during the 1990s.

Villa Laura

17th century, Cerneglons

Balanced Venetian references

Named after Laura Prodolini who owned it between 1850 and 1874
The architectural complex consists of the main building, and lower buildings flanking it. Another wall, in which the entrance portal is located on an axis with the entrance to the villa, closes the complex towards the road, while to the rear and to the south the countryside, recently transformed into a park, develops.
The dominant building dates back to the 17th century and was restored in the early 20th century. The villa has a rectangular floor plan with a passing salon, according to the Venetian model, set on the central axis where the round-arched entrance portal in ashlar stone is located, to which corresponds a balcony on the first floor with a round-arched door opening into the salon. On the projecting roof, there are two large Venetian-style fireplaces.

Villa Zoccolari

17th century, Cerneglons

Villa and crenellated wall of great value

Villa Zoccolari, a manor complex with a residential body and rustic annexes; the building, which dates back to the 17th century, was the country residence of the Brunelleschi family, Florentine notaries in Udine. The third villa was a manor house, then a summer school, and preserves a high crenellated stone wall of historical value.

Church of Santo Stefano

17th century, Cerneglons

A votive reference of late Gothic taste

The pre-existing church can be dated to 1500 because of an inscription visible on the architrave of the entrance door. The date probably indicates a remaking or a conspicuous restoration. I The ecclesia Sancti Stefani is mentioned in 1366. Until 1594 it was the main church, then passed to the Church of San Giovanni.
It consists of a single simple hall with exposed beams and a square apse with a ribbed vault. A bell tower pre-existing as a watchtower then raised as can be seen from the different workmanship is at the side of the façade. The façade has an upper eye and a gabled portico added with three round arches on three sides. The interior is dense with stylistic elements that reveal the influence of the late-Gothic school.Until 1976, the altar was a wooden altar (1515) by Martini built specifically for the Gothic apse of the church, now in a small hall of the parish church.

Church of Our Lady of the Snows

14th-16th century, Selvis

The Camardolese monks of Selvis

The church stands on a hill overlooking the bed of the ancient Malinat, an old dry river that flowed into the Marina. The church was inhabited by some hermit Camaldolese Benedictine monks who, in 1477, after their church on the outskirts of Udine had been converted into a lazaret, moved to this place. It was they who started the construction with a first chapel, which dates back to the end of the 15th century. In those years some houses were built, which constituted the first nucleus of the present village. The present church dates back to the 17th century. The dedication to Our Lady of the Snow is 20th century and is linked to the legend dating back to the 4th century A.D. of the snow that fell in Rome during the feast of the Virgin Mary on 5 August.

Church of St. Mary Magdalene

14th century, Orzano

A testimony to a medieval country church

The church of St. Mary Magdalene in Orzano has been preserved almost intact and is a testimony to how it looked in the Middle Ages. After the earthquake of 1348, it was restored and frescoed on the walls of the hall and in the small apse.
Inside, four 16th-century frescoes can be seen: on the wall in front of the apse is a Madonna and Child and on the left wall the Adoration of the Magi; on the right a procession of saints, of excellent workmanship.
It retains its original form, although with partial changes over the centuries. It has a simple rectangular hall, ceiling with exposed beams, apse with Romanesque stone cone arch, slightly lowered with a semi-circular vault. Smooth façade with a single-light belfry on the ridge, with a door and two rectangular windows opened or enlarged later (17th century). A line of terracotta dentils adorns the eaves line and the bell gable with single lancet belfry on the façade. Mixed masonry of roughly squared stones and pebbles. Present roofing in tiles.

Church of San Rocco

15th – 16th century, Ziracco

The lozenge and the circle: stylistic motifs of the early 16th century

The church stands in the middle of a sixteenth-century trivium.
The external part of the loggia is interesting, with its late 15th-century stylistic motifs: the alternating lozenge and circle design.
The hall is square with a cross-shaped ceiling. A plaster altar reproduces Michelangelo’s Pietà; there is also an ancient wooden statue of San Rocco (18th century).

Bergum House

13th – 18th century, Remanzacco

A strong house with Renaissance details

Bergum stands in an open place in the Remanzacco countryside. It has very ancient origins (perhaps late Roman) and is the result of various transformations: first a fortified place (similar to medieval castles), then a rural residence. The main building is a two-storey rectangular body with a granary (15th century). To the east stands one of the towers that formed part of the 15th-century fortified house, while the one to the west dates from the 17th century. It was first mentioned in a document from 1275.
A stone, inserted at the base of the buttress supporting one side of the main building within the walls, bears the date 1500 and the inscription Bergamo, together with a shield shaped with a cross.
It belonged to the Calderini family from whom, at the end of the 18th century, it passed to the Serafini family.
At present, the fortified house consists of a walled enclosure with the dominical building inside, some appurtenances and a tower annexed to the ancient entrance that was originally moved to the left in the building characterised by a lowered arch of rather ancient workmanship.
Remains of an outer wall still emerge from the surrounding cultivated land. In a room now used as a ‘historical’ kitchen, a fragment of a fresco depicting the lion of St Mark was found during the work of emptying the cross vaults of the room. It seems clear that this was built later than the fresco.

Church of St Mary of the Assumption

from the 12th century, Remanzacco

A fine bell tower from the early 1500s

In the main square of Ziracco stands on an embankment the church of St. Mary of the Assumption, already mentioned at the end of the 12th century. On the façade there is a stone framed portal and a central rose window. The nave has a barrel vault with decorated wooden coffers. The bell tower dates back to the beginning of the 16th century.

Vicinia House

XVIII, Remanzacco

An exemplary 18th-century architectural typology

The “loggetta” or Casa della Vicinìa. It is a building preserved in the eighteenth-century typology with a square floor plan and a large front portico, with three arches with lowered arches and a room at the back used as a cellar. On the upper floor, accessed by an internal staircase, there were two granaries for the storage of the harvest of the Vicinìa di Ziracco, now converted into a dwelling. The small bell gable on the ridge of the roof and the stone portal of the boundary wall are interesting.

Villa of the Valsassina Tower

XVIII, Remanzacco

An imposing and noble eighteenth-century villa

The Villa della Torre Valsassina was enlarged and definitively arranged in the early eighteenth century, and consists of a central body with a rectangular plan and two lateral barchesse (outhouses), joined at the end by a guesthouse to form a square courtyard. In the Italian garden there is an imposing 18th-century central well and a spectacular double stone staircase leading to the main floor.

The Mills and the Cividina Canal

Remanzacco

An artificial canal of ancient mills

The Cividina irrigation ditch is an artificial canal that originates from the barrage on the Torre stream in the locality of Zompitta (Municipality of Reana del Rojale). It flows in a north-south direction and enters the Park coming from the Municipality of Povoletto, near Casali Battiferro di Sopra, passes Casali Propetto and crosses the Malina stream in a siphon, near its confluence with the Torre. It ends its course in the municipality of Manzano, flowing into the Manganizza stream and then into the Natisone. Since it is an artificial watercourse, it does not have the torrential character that characterises the natural surface hydrography of the territory, and is the only watercourse with a permanent flow. The water of the Cividina irrigation ditch allowed and favoured the construction of numerous water mills The development of the water wheel had a decisive impulse from the 13th century onwards.
The structure of the mills built along the course of the Cividina irrigation ditch was simple, with vertical wheel systems and a rectangular room with a single hall, on two levels and arranged longitudinally to the water course. The basement was used for technical installations, while the ground floor was occupied by rooms for processing cereals. A possible first floor was assigned to the miller’s shelter while in some cases it was used as a granary. Normally a door and a window faced the water wheel to allow control of its functionality. As production increased, the mills were often equipped with an upper floor dedicated to sifting operations.

Battiferro Mill di Sopra

Remanzacco

Three forges and three anvils

Battiferro di Sopra Mill, also known as Battiferro della Marsura, a very old mill to the north of the built-up area of Remanzacco, with three masonry forges and three anvils. It was equipped with a sluice that diverted the water when necessary and a space upstream where a collection basin was formed to raise the levels in case it was necessary to increase the flow.

Marsura Mill

Remanzacco

...

Mulino della Marsura is isolated in the countryside to the north-east of the village along the road called Mulino di Sopra that leads, through the ford of the Malina stream, to the Casali Marsure, today called Casali Magnis. Today, only the leap over the irrigation ditch remains of the original structure, while the external and internal parts have been destroyed, modified and reused for other purposes. The mill officially closed in 1938.

Cainero Mill

Remanzacco

In activity from 1500 to 1992

Mill of Remanzacco or Mulino di sotto, located along the S.S. 54. Of all the mills of Remanzacco, it is the only one to have preserved the mechanical parts for grinding. It is a rectangular building with two rooms on the ground floor, one used for grinding wheat and grain and the other for polishing barley. The mill’s activity, which began before the 16th century, ceased in 1992.

Mill of Orzano

1501, Casali Cainero

The canal, the waterfall and the ancient remains

Mulino di Orzano, in Casali Cainero, whose first records date back to 1501, is located in the countryside south-east of Remanzacco, in the Molino Cainero farmsteads. Today the premises used for milling have become private homes, but it is still possible to admire, in addition to the jump and a water wheel feeding channel, the remains of a millstone and three stone stacks used for polishing barley.

Battiferro Mill di Sotto

Remanzacco

....

Mulino Battiferro di Sotto stands near Selvis in the locality of Casali Battiferro. What distinguishes this mill from the others is that the last family of its managers has been able, in step with the changing times, to transform the old forge into a modern industry. In 1970 the old ironworks ceased its activity, but it was not abandoned; in fact, in its historical premises, today there is the “Gino Tonutti Museum”, which houses, in addition to the old and working machine tools of the factory, numerous examples of various agricultural machines, as evidence of the production of the Tonutti ironworks.

Propetto Mill

Cerneglons

Named after the ancient family

Mill of Cerneglons called Propetto Mill or Malina Mill, built just before the confluence of the Cividina irrigation ditch with the Malina torrent, along the road that in ancient times connected Cerneglons to Orzano. Today only a few external structures of the old mill are visible, such as the waterfall and the pins on which the spindles of the water wheels rested. A village called Casali Propetto grew up around the mill, named after the family that once ran the mill. The old mill operated until 1937.

Altarpiece by Giovanni Martini

1510-1515, Remanzacco

A masterpiece of Renaissance wooden architecture

The altarpiece by Giovanni Martini, originally located in the apse of the church, is now housed in the parish church after careful restoration.
It was painted between 1510 and 1515, i.e. around the time the churches of St Stephen and St John the Baptist were built.
The architectural structure in Venetian-Lombard style with two rows of niches divided by strong frames, refined by inlays, is Renaissance and very harmonious. The statues of saints are magnificent in their workmanship and luminosity. In the lower register in the centre is the Virgin with the Child standing in her lap, learning to read from a paper book; around her are the four evangelists.
In the upper register are St Michael, St Sebastian, St Roch and St Martin; above is the crowning of the Virgin.

G&R Bench

Remanzacco

Place of ancient settlements and Renaissance battles

In the Percorso dell’Amore, Remanzacco and its hamlets have places and memories of the Renaissance period of great value, points of interest and nature of rare beauty. Located on the axis connecting Cividale del Friuli with Udine, it is a “heart” place to be discovered.

Points of interest

The Torre Malina Park

Remanzacco

Itineraries, nature trails and river networks

The territory of the Municipality of Remanzacco belongs to the medium-high plain of permeable gravel. The Park is on a river network of: Torre, Malina, Grivò, Rio Sgiava and Roggia Cividina. A vast territory where finds have been made dating back to the Mesolithic, Bronze Age and Neolithic periods. The Torre Malina Park offers: nature trails along the Malina embankment, eight cycle routes in the area. A park that offers a great variability of flora and fauna. There are three access gates, in Ziracco, in Remanzacco and one in Cerneglons. An itinerary that takes us on a discovery of the territory.

Ask the administration for access

Juri Furnaces

1911, Cerneglons

A complex of industrial archaeology

The Juri kilns, to the south of the town of Cerneglons, are located along the internal road of the village. They were built in 1911 for the production of bricks and closed in the early 1960s. It is an example of “industrial archaeology”.
A building complex, with workshop and dryer. The tall kiln chimney stands out on the street front. The load-bearing structure is made of exposed brick with an open portico on the ground floor; on the upper floors were the dryers and the coal deposits to feed the kilns. Canopies and roofs are now almost completely ruined.

The astronomical observatory of Remanzacc

1989, Remanzacco

An eye on the universe

An astronomical observatory. Its MPC code is 473 Remanzacco. The observatory was set up in 1989 on the initiative of the Associazione Friulana di Astronomia e Meteorologia. The Friulian Association of Astronomy and Meteorology is an amateur organisation founded in 1970 and is formed by people linked by a common interest in Astronomy and related sciences. It is open to everyone, from beginners to experts. It organises seminars and public lectures, evenings dedicated to telescope observation, basic and advanced training courses and scientific research programmes in collaboration with national and international organisations. The Association has a well-stocked library, a conference room and a permanent Astronomical Observatory with optical instruments for visual observation and CCD sensors for research.