The Lovers’
Walk

Romeo and Juliet’s
Lovers’ Walk

Tarvisio

A welcoming place of heart and soul

Tarvisio is the gateway to the Lovers’ Walk that also marks, a few kilometers away across the Austrian border, the end of the story,where the protagonist of the Friulian Revolt, Antonio Savorgnan, was killed in Villach in 1512, followed by the reconciliation and marriage between the Savorgnan Del Monte and Del Torre families, wished for by the Serenissima.

Infopoint

Would you like to know more about the Municipality?Come and visit us and we will advise you on our points of interest, events or activities that Tarvisio has to offer.

Contacts
Via Roma, 14 • 33018 Tarvisio (UD)
Tel. +39 0428 2135 • Fax +39 0428 2972
info.tarvisio@promoturismo.fvg.it

Uniqueness of the territory

Discover the places and uniqueness that Tarvisio and its territory has to offer. Its mountains and attractions to visit and experience all year round.

Map

In the map the location of the places of the period, he points of interest, historical and naturalistic, that will make unique your experience in the territory.

Place of heart

The places of Tarvisio and its territory, the period between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries which are thebackground to the love story of Romeo and Juliet.

Points of interest

Discover the origins, the history of Tarvisio and its territory, its historical and naturalistic points of interest. A cultural itinerary to discover incredible and exciting places and events.

Infopoint

Would you like to know more about the Municipality?Come and visit us and we will advise you on our points of interest, events or activities that Tarvisio has to offer.

Contacts
Via Roma, 14 • 33018 Tarvisio (UD)
Tel. +39 0428 2135 • Fax +39 0428 2972
info.tarvisio@promoturismo.fvg.it

Uniqueness of the territory

Discover the places and uniqueness that Tarvisio and its territory has to offer.

Map

On the map the location of the places of the period, points of interest, historical and naturalistic, that will make your experience unique in the territory.

Place of heart

The places of Lignano Sabbiadoro and its territory, the period between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, which are the background to the love story of Romeo and Juliet.

Points of interest

Discover the origins, the history of Lignano Sabbiadoro and its territory, its historical and naturalistic points of interest. A cultural itinerary to discover incredible and exciting places and events.

Tarvisio

Tarvisio, crossroads of Valcanale, was already known to the Romans.
Its territory is rich in historical evidence of every era.
City of passage, surrounded by the gentle Julian Alps, Tarvisio contains all the wealth that comes from its position as a crossroads of three cultures. Its unique position straddles three borders led it to develop an architecture whose particular characteristics are unique which has strongly typed the entire Valcanale. There are several palaces, in which you can easily recognize the Carinthian style of facades and chimneys and the influence of Venetian Renaissance architecture.
From the 15th century the iron industry flourished there. In the same period between 1478 and 1492 Tarvisio suffered looting by the Turks.

Places of the period

Villacco

27 May 1512, Villach

The Conspiracy and Murder of Antonio Savorgan in Villach

The place where the protagonist of the popular urban and peasant revolt, Antonio Savorgnan, was killed on 27 May 1512. Having taken refuge in Villacco thinking he would be protected and escape Venetian condemnation, he was attacked by some Friulian castellans, including Gian Enrico Spilimbergo, Girolamo di Colloredo and Gian Giorgio di Zoppola, near the Cathedral of San Giacomo in Villaco in Austria, and killed in the nearby cemetery of San Martino.

City walls and towers

1399 -1445, Tarvisio

Walls and towers fortress against Ottoman threats

Place where the protagonist of the popular urban and peasant revolt, Antonio Savorgnan, was killed on 27th May 1512. Having taken refuge in Villacco thinking of being protected and escaping condemnation by the Venetians, he was attacked by some Friulian castellans,
including Gian Enrico Spilimbergo, Girolamo di Colloredo and Gian Giorgio di Zoppola, near the Cathedral of San Giacomo in Villaco in Austria, and killed in the nearby cemetery of San Martino.

Church of Fusine

1462 – 1463, Fusine

Renaissance interior and exterior frescoes

The building dedicated to Saint Nicholas was built between 1462 and 1463 and was declared a parish church in 1500. Of interest from the period are the exterior frescoes and the interior with rounded vaults, a semi-spherical vault, and a carved marble organ loggia.

Palace of the Master of the Forests

1516, Fusine

Elements with Renaissance architectural rhythms

Built at the behest of the Bishops of Bamberg, it became the seat of the Master of Forests and was reinvented in 1843, raising it one storey. The current entrance portal was also added: it was made more imposing by a series of interventions (such as the addition of jambs and gables), which are a clear reference to the Italian Renaissance.

The Venetian Palace

1569, Malborghetto

Venetian Renaissance details, loggias and stone decorations

This is a late 16th-century building with a fine stone doorway and loggia at the back. It represents an example of a borgese house built in 1569 by one of the most important families of the village: the Pauli family, originally from Gemona del Friuli. It was involved in the events of the War of Gradisca (1615-18).

The Raibi mine

1456, Cave del Predil

The International Park and monument to the memory of workers' work

The mine in Cave del Predil was one of the most important European lead and zinc mines for centuries. In 1456 the Bishop of Bamberg granted Osvaldo Raibl the right to excavate the deposit. For many centuries the mine was managed by the Rechbach family. In 1759 Raibl became part of the possessions of the Habsburgs. Closed in 1990, today it has become the Raibl International Geo-mineral Park, a monument to the memory of the workers’ work and a tourist and educational destination.

The Sanctuary of Mount Lussari

1360-1500, Tarvisio

An ancient destination for three peoples

Mount Lussari, with its sanctuary, is a pilgrimage destination for three peoples. According to an ancient tradition, the sanctuary originated in 1360 following a series of miraculous events. The present building is the result of reconstructions and extensions of a 16th-century building, dating from the second half of the 1500s. The sanctuary can be reached on foot, through the suggestive Sentiero del Pellegrino (Pilgrim’s Path) that winds through the woods of the Tarvisio forest or by cable car.
Tarvisio comprises four hamlets: Caporosso, Cave del Predil, Coccau and Fusine. A cool climate in summer and snowy in winter. Attractive all year round.

Points of interest

G&R Bench

2021, Tarvisio

A place of the heart that welcomes us

Tarvisio is the gateway to the Route of Love and at the same time the point of passage that marks, just a few kilometres away, the end of history, with the murder at Villacco in 1512 of the protagonist of the popular urban and peasant revolt, Antonio Savorgnan, which was followed by reconciliation with the marriage between the Savorgnan Del Monte and Torre families, as desired by the Serenissima.

Tarvisio Forest

Tarvisio

The majestic forest of trees and "resonances

It is considered the largest forest in Italy. Twenty-four thousand hectares, two thirds of which are covered by productive woodland and used as a source of timber by the Serenissima.
The forest is crossed by the River Fella, which reaches the national borders to join Austria and Slovenia. It is located in the territories of the municipalities of Tarvisio, Malborghetto-Valbruna and Pontebba, The mountain forest is characterised by beech, pine and fir woods populated by white and red fir: the latter grows in only a few places, including the Tarvisio Forest, and is called the “resonance fir” because it is used to make high-quality stringed musical instruments. As far as fauna is concerned, there are: the Alpine hare, the ptarmigan, the black grouse, the black grouse and the capercaillie, the latter being the symbol of the Forest, the golden eagle and, in passing, the griffon vulture. Among the large mammals that inhabit the woods are brown bears, deer, roe deer and, higher up, chamois and ibex.

The lakes of Fusine

Fusine, Tarvisio

Silent meditative reflections

The imposing and statuesque Mangart mountain group dominates the Fusine lakes. Surrounded by spruce, white and beech trees. And the fauna, consisting of migratory birds in summer, deer, roe deer and chamois, all animals that you come across. The lakes are of glacial origin and are connected to each other in an underground way: they make up a picture-postcard panorama.

© Archive Consorzio Promozione Turistica del Tarvisiano, Sella Nevea and Passo Pramollo.
Photos by Nicola Brollo, Daniel Fischer and Claudio Costerni.